ECAC honors 50 NYIT student-athletes for stellar spring academic performances

Jessica Daniel (left) and Christine Rizzacasa at graduation in May. Both earned recognition from the ECAC on Thursday.
Jessica Daniel (left) and Christine Rizzacasa at graduation in May. Both earned recognition from the ECAC on Thursday.

OLD WESTBURY, N.Y. — NYIT Athletics continues to score big in the classroom.

The Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference recognized 50 NYIT student-athletes on Thursday for their academic performances during the spring semester.

"Recognizing our student-athletes is at the core of our mission at the ECAC," ECAC president Dan Coonan said. "This program is a great way for us to celebrate the academic efforts of ECAC student-athletes, and we look forward to shining a spotlight on their accomplishments in the Classic room."

Appearing on one of the ECAC's spring academic honor rolls requires a student-athlete to be of at least sophomore status and to have competed this past semester in baseball, softball, basketball, lacrosse, swimming and diving, or track and field.

The ECAC has two levels of honorees. The President's Honor Roll requires a spring-semester GPA of 3.6 to 4.0. The Academic Honor roll requires a GPA between 3.2 and 3.59 in 2017-18.

Overall, NYIT student-athletes had a collective 3.27 GPA during the past academic year — outpacing the general student body.

In Division II, the ECAC comprises 26 collegiate programs from New York to South Carolina and west to Missouri.

The ECAC honorees from NYIT:

President's Honor Roll (3.6+ GPA): Dominic Paolo (baseball), Kieran Hamilton (men's basketball); Corinn Baggs, Maia Hood and Madison Strippoli (women's basketball); Chris Gomes, Brian Jockers, Matt Murphy and Andrew Zito (men's lacrosse); Matt DeAngelis, Ryan Kuskowski and Nick Tedesco (baseball); Jessica Daniel, Sofia Evangelista, Sydney Kratzert and Ruth Rodriguez (softball).

Academic Honor Roll (3.2-3.59): Arvelle Jones III and Marcus Saint-Furcy (men's basketball); Kayla Bomani, Alyse Jefferson, Kristen Kelly, Meg Knollmeyer and Nina Vukosavljevic (women's basketball); Tom Brennan, Nick Deluca, Michael LoCastro, Mike Sofia and Jason Sullivan (men's lacrosse); Angelina Cuevas, Shannon Donovan, Erin Lankowicz, Rosemary Mahoney, Ashley Miller and Lexi Ruiz (women's lacrosse); Matt Bartnik, Timmy Cassese, Brendan Dowd, Zach Kleinwaks, Jake Lebel, DJ Masuck, Ben McNeill, Joseph Murphy, Mike Sinnott and Zach White (baseball); Sophia Medina, Samantha Melendez, Christine Olivas, Christine Rizzacasa, Brooke Scherer and Mary Tom (softball).