Men's lacrosse captain Ian Prate named USILA Scholar All-American

Men's lacrosse captain Ian Prate named USILA Scholar All-American

OLD WESTBURY, N.Y. — Not only did Ian Prate produce major accomplishments on the lacrosse field, he also performed in the classroom.

And Prate was honored for being a bona fide student-athlete by being named a United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Division II Scholar All-American on Monday.

Prate graduated in May with a bachelor's degree in business.

He previously had been named ECC and ECAC Defensive Player of the Year and a USILA second-team All-American for his senior-year efforts.

A year ago, he was the USILA Division II Long Pole Midfielder of the Year and a first-team All-American.

Prate appeared in 58 games during his four-year NYIT career, amassing 176 ground balls and 93 caused turnovers.

He finished his NYIT career with a 3.04 cumulative GPA.

He was joined as a USILA D-II Scholar All-American by Belmont Abbey's Kyle McGinley and Adam Wiedemann, Chestnut Hill's Dylan Klusaritz, Joshua Pope and Kyle Newman, Colorado State-Pueblo's Preston DeHerrera, Georgian Court's Jeffrey Galatola, Le Moyne's Brendan Entenmann and Justin Kesselring, Limestone's Tyler Gaulton, Mercy's Ryan MacSpadyen and Christopher Martinez, Rockhurst's Jake Martin, Luis Martinez and Joe Burbach, Rollins' Austin Jackson and Lucas Brush, Saint Anselm's Drew Bourdeau, Saint Leo's Jake Gilmour and Jake Bye, Seton Hill's Joe Cillo and Tampa's Luke Posner.

It marks the third straight year that NYIT has produced a USILA Scholar All-American. Will Kistinger and Joe Morhardt received the honor last year, while Sean Cleary and Jon Lynott did so in 2016.