Erin Smith named ECC Defensive Player of the Year for women's lacrosse

Erin Smith named ECC Defensive Player of the Year for women's lacrosse

OLD WESTBURY, N.Y. — NYIT senior standout Erin Smith is the East Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year for women's lacrosse, while eight of her teammates also received league honors Friday.

Smith has a team-leading 40 ground balls as well as 25 caused turnovers and 34 draw controls in 18 games this season.

Joining Smith as first-team All-ECC are Katie Meinecke, Alyssa Milano, Karie Znaniecki and Taylor Davide.

Brooke Basso, Trisha Serras, Kelly McQuail and Lauren Young earned second-team All-ECC honors.

"I'm proud of Erin for earning this honor," coach Kerri Handras said. "She is one of our anchors on defense who has played consistently at a high level. Her efforts on the field have been an integral part of our success."

The full awards list:

First Team
A - Connor Bird, LIUP
A - Cassley Jackowski, RWC
A - Emily Jehle, MER
A - Katie Meinecke, NYIT
A - Alyssa Milano, NYIT
A - Brianna Wilson, MOL
A - Karie Znaniecki, NYIT
M - Grace Davidson, MER
M - Hunter Isnardi, MER
M - Ryan McKinney, LIUP
M - Cooper Sesselman, MOL
D - Taylor Davide, NYIT
D - Cara Douglas, LIUP
D - Erin Smith, NYIT
D - Talia Stagnitta, MER
GK - Olivia Kirk, LIUP

Second Team
A - Caroline Finnen, STAC
A - Alexa Haines, MER
A - Jessica Markowitz, MOL
A - Alexis Newman, LIUP
A - Alexa Watson, MOL
M - Brooke Basso, NYIT
M - Alyssa Mallery, LIUP
M - Lauren Mengel, UB
M - Trisha Serras, NYIT
D - Kelly Backus, LIUP
D - Emily Bauer, MOL
D - Hope Coticchio, MER
D - Melissa DellaRocca, MER
D - Kelly McQuail, NYIT
GK - Shannon Knapp, RWC
GK - Lauren Young, NYIT

Offensive Player of the Year -
 Hunter Isnardi, Mercy
Defensive Player of the Year - Erin Smith, NYIT
Goalkeeper of the Year - Olivia Kirk, LIU Post
Rookie of the Year - Alyssa Mallery, LIU Post
Coach of the Year - Dawn Anselmin, Mercy